Apr 09

Britney Spears rolls up her sleeve for the COVID-19 vaccine: “It was nothing!”

Axelle/Bauer-Griffin/FilmMagicBritney Spears is the latest pop star to get the COVID-19 vaccine.

Taking to Instagram on Thursday, the "Toxic" singer shared that she and boyfriend Sam Asghari went through their vaccination appointment without a hitch and celebrated the success with a high five. 

Spears, 39, also had a special message to fans who might still be on the fence about getting the COVID-19 shot.

When Asghari, 27, asked the Grammy winner what she thought about getting the jab, she took a moment to relay to her followers that it was painless.

"The people on the internet said it was really, really bad like it was a bullet through your arm," said Spears, who then shrugged off the rumor.

"It was nothing. I felt nothing," she refuted through a wide smile. "I'm fine and I hope I continue to stay fine."

The two closed out the video by giving each other a triumphant high five, quoting the popular catchphrase made popular by Sacha Baron Cohen's Borat.

Spears followed up in the caption by continuing with the Borat references by calling her vaccination appointment a "Great success.... High-five!!!!!!"

By Megan Stone
Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

   Apr 09

Glass Animals: Pop success of “Heat Waves” is a “lovely surprise”

Pooneh GhanaBritish band Glass Animals has been releasing records since 2012, but their current single "Heat Waves" is their first-ever to make it onto Billboard's Hot 100 chart, not to mention their first on Billboard's Pop Airplay chart.  And nobody is more surprised by the song's success than, well...the members of Glass Animals themselves.

"This song being on these pop radio stations is just such a surprise," says Glass Animals drummer Joe Seaward. "Everything's such a lovely surprise. You just never feel jaded, I think, is the nice thing, 'cause everything's always a bonus."

The band's frontman, Dave Bayley, tells ABC Audio why the success of "Heat Waves" -- coming as it did in the middle of the COVID-19 pandemic -- means a "huge amount" to the band.

"We haven't actually been able to go overseas, but this song has kind of traveled and sort of done that for us," he notes. "We feel very lucky to have had that, it's pretty amazing."

As for why "Heat Waves" has become their breakthrough hit, Joe believes it's because the song's combination of "upbeat, exciting music" and "remorseful, mournful lyrics" reflects our present moment in time.

"It's quite sad," notes Joe. "I think that that resonates quite strongly with what's been happening to people in the last year."

"Heat Waves" appears on Glass Animals' new album, Dreamland, a concept album about Dave Bayley's childhood.  He's hoping that new fans who've discovered the band through "Heat Waves" will now be inspired to give Dreamland a try.

"Maybe it'll lead people to listen to the album, which was very much written and made as an entire entity, as an entire world," says Dave, adding, "I think you can say a lot more when an actual album is greater than the sum of its parts."

By Josh Johnson & Andrea Dresdale
Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

   Apr 09

Taylor Swift’s ‘Fearless (Taylor’s Version)’ Is Here: Five Fascinating Facts

Beth GarrabrantTaylor Swift’s hotly anticipated re-recording of her 2008 album, Fearless (Taylor’s Version), arrives April 9.  Here are five fascinating facts about the project:

5. Taylor is re-recording her albums because she was famously unable to buy back the master recordings of her first six albums from her former record label.  The ownership of those masters then changed hands several times, but after failing to reach a deal, Taylor decided to simply re-record the albums. By offering fans new versions of those songs, she's literally taking money out of the pockets of the executives who now have the rights to her work.

4. Fearless (Taylor’s Version) features 27 tracks: Re-recordings of the original album’s 13 songs, six songs from the Fearless Platinum Edition, the movie soundtrack-only song "Today Was a Fairy Tale," six never-before-released “From the Vault” songs, and a remix of "Love Story (Taylor's Version)."

3. Taylor had her original duet partner on the song "Breathe," Colbie Caillat, return to re-record that song for the project.  She also invited her country superstar friends Maren Morris and Keith Urban to add vocals to a few of the “From the Vault” songs. She plans to add "From the Vault" extras to all of her re-recorded albums.

2. The original version of Fearless has sold more than 10 million copies since its release in 2008.  It features the hits "Love Story," "You Belong With Me," "Fifteen" and "White Horse."

1. Fearless was named Album of the Year at the 2010 Grammy Awards, making Taylor, at age 20, the youngest artist ever to win that award. Her record stood until 2020, when 18-year-old Billie Eilish broke it with her album WHEN WE ALL FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO?

By Andrea Dresdale
Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.